.NET Gadgeteer Builder Templates only for C#?

Can anyone confirm that [em].NET Gadgeteer Builder Templates[/em] are not compatible with VB.NET? Or is just me?
I really don’t want to switch to C#.

Hi:
I don’t have a specific answer but as a VB programmer, I feel your pain.
I frequently take blocks of C# and convert to VB which is easier for me to read. I use Convert C# to VB.NET - A free code conversion tool - developer Fusion for this conversion and the reverse. If I had to write a Gadgeteer module I would develop and debug in VB, then translate to C# and plug it into the C# template.

I have often wished that Visual Studio has a button that would translate back and forth between C# and VB. I do not think it would be a large challenge to build.

As more VB programmers become visible working in NETMF, I think these issues will be resolved.

Good luck

I have used that tool many times, but it is far from perfect. Fun begins when converted code is not working, trying to find an issue takes hours of pain.

Unfortunately I feel that more and more people are going with C# instead of VB and that it is slowly dying. I would be very happy to be proven wrong.

I absolutely agree. VB was great in its day and the C# UI Toolbox and language was probably to a great deal inspired by the original VB. But nowadays it is not what I would recommend to anyone starting out into programming. I think you will benefit greatly by just accepting the learning curve of adapting to C#.

I originally came from the C++ niche.
Back then I thought: “Who needs C# (or even .NET) when there is C++”.
Then I tried .NET in C++: Extremely complicated syntax (This was in the .NET 1.1 times).
A bit later (the .NET 2.0 times, VS 2005) I thought, why don’t give C# a chance.
It ended in rewriting my 3/4 finished and already working industrial image processing software in C#.
Nowadays I wouldn’t want to switch back if not absolutely necessary.