.NET C# Fast? Inline Functions List?

Guys, I’m totally new to Fez and .NET C#. From what I read in the description, C#/.NET is interpreted, and that there are a set of internal functions that are faster to process things. But where can I get a list of those “faster” functions?

Overall, compared to an Arduino 8-bit 16Mhz, how does a FEZ Panda works?

The project I’m thinking is simple:

• LCD 16x2
  • 16 buttons (push)
  • 16 leds
  • Rotary Encoder
  • 2 axis Thumb Joystick with Click

Its a Midi Sequencer with 16 Tracks. So Memory is an issue.

Also, do I need extra hardware to add an SD connector? (the Arduino doesn’t need, just the SD connection case)

Also, how easy is to work with MIDI? I already have SparkFun MIDI Breakout box on my list.

Thanks for any help so far.

Best Regards, WilliamK

Pretty much all the libs that come with .NETMF are written in the native layer, so naturally its faster.

As fare as I understand .NET Micro Framework it’s not an interpreted code and will compile to a runnable code, not like the high level .NET JIT compiler.
When it comes to speed your project probably will run better on a FEZ base board then any Arduino. I believe that with this many interrupt based inputs: 16 buttons, rotary encoders, joy stick the only way to do this is by an event driven device.

You will need additional SD Card hardware for the Panda.

There is a MicroSD addon made for it by the FEZ guys or you could wire up the sparkfun SD Card breakout for a full-size card. While you need to pay a little extra for the socket it does come with a few advantages like high speed 4-bit data transfers, not the slower SPI interface and a full FAT16/FAT32 native layer driver in the .netmf so you don’t need to roll your own filesystem driver.