Native code NETMF on Cerberus

I thought I would share a little of my excitement for the weekend.

I started playing around with the STM32F0 processor, specifically looking at how multitasking is supported. I got some simple code up and running fairly quickly which could multitask native functions aka threads. Then it dawned on me that we could implement the .NETMF libraries as native code using C++11. So I started building a little multitasking kernel and implemented some of the IO classes.

To ensure that I keep within tight resources, I am developing this on a Cortex-M0 (STM32F051) chip, but ideally I want to implement the Gadgeteer framework and have it run on the FEZ Cerberus.

Here is sample code for two thread functions, the code should look very similar to what you would have in C#.

void threadA (void *param)
{
	OutputPort ledGreen((Cpu::Pin)41, false, false, Port::ResistorMode::Disabled);
	while(true)
	{
		ledGreen.Write(!ledGreen.Read());
		Threading::Thread::Sleep(500);
	}
}

void threadB (void *param)
{
	OutputPort blueGreen((Cpu::Pin)40, false, false, Port::ResistorMode::Disabled);
	while(true)
	{
		blueGreen.Write(!blueGreen.Read());
		Threading::Thread::Sleep(250);
	}
}

Here is a video of the code running on my Discovery board.

I have not implemented the full wrapper for the threading, which is why I have not shown that code. But now that I have confirmed that it can be done, I will try to get through implementing a good amount of the .NETMF SPOT libraries.

I am using GCC 4.8 which has some of the latest C++11 features, which I have started using here. The ease of NETMF with native performance…?

6 Likes

Very interesting!

Do you want to stick to the basic drivers (timers, GPIO, PWM, analog in, serial, I2C, SPI) and rewrite them, or adapt existing HAL drivers, or put a layer on top of the existing HAL drivers?