Multiple DC Motor Shields?

I am new to all this but have some ideas on robots etc that I want to build with the kids. From what I can tell you can stack the shields on top of the microcontrollers to add functionality. It appears that the Panda II will be the microcontroller for us. I’m making my list of components to order today and have a few questions:

• Is it possible to stack two dc motor shields on top of the panda II to provide control of 4 motors? If not, can you point me toward alternatives for access to more than two motors?

• By the same token, if you need access to more than two servos (that the connect shield would provide for example), how do you manage that?

• Is the following arrangement possible?
    ==> connect shield (top)
    ==> DC Motor Shield
    ==> DC Motor Shield
    ==> FEZ Panda II (bottom)

Many thanks,
Will

Stackable shields is good but you run into problems when using shields that reuse the same pins. So, you can’t use 2 shields of the same type without hacking some wires. (the new FEZ Spider gadgeteer fixes this problem)

How much do you know about electronics?

I suspected this might be an issue with stacking the shields because two shields with the same pin mapping would conflict with each other. I’m a computer programmer. I would say my hardware electronics knowledge is beginner level but improving. After I posted my question I found another thread about “More PWMs” for quadcopter construction (which is where we’re headed). Part of being able to ask the right questions is learning the vocabulary. So now I understand that Panda II has 6 pwm’s which can control 6 motors, but that’s only the control signal, not the power that the motors require. PWM, once switched on, so to speak, maintains the motor speed without processor intervention required. This was the appeal of the shield, it allows pwm and provides power input for the motor in one package.