More analog inputs for a very analog world :)

Hello

For my project I will use 8 accelerometer(50G, 100G, 250G) (5-7V) and 1 pressure sensor (70PSI) (10-15V). Unfortunately the USBizi processor provides only 8 analog inputs.

I’m not very good with electronics, but I saw in this forum, that there is the possibility to use an ADC on the SPI to create more analog inputs. I would like to have a very high sampling rate on the inputs. Unforuntately I can not find the ADC :frowning:

Can anyone help me or recommend me a suitable part?

Regards,

Lionel

MCP3208. [url]http://www.microchip.com/wwwproducts/Devices.aspx?dDocName=en010534[/url]. I just searched on “SPI ADC” and found this link [url]http://extremeelectronics.co.in/avr-tutorials/interfacing-12-bit-spi-adc-mcp3204-with-avr-micro/[/url] in the first page of results.

Thank you very much, this is just the kind of input I needet. Also with good explanation!

I will do some research in the tutorials there. Are there any restrictions from FEZ Panda, which I have to take into consideration?

Thanks again for the quick answer :slight_smile:

nope. I’d just use one of these connected to a Panda on SPI, handling your 8 accelerometers, and one I’d use the Panda ADC for.

SPI is pretty easy to get working in Fez - some would say Freakin’ easy ;D :D!

USBizi 100 documentations says that the SPI is 8/16bit. You sent me a link to a 12bit ADC. I found a 8 bit chip on the website of a local supplyer.

single-ended
Serial, SPI
2.7 mA Power Supply (min 2.35V max 5.5V)

is this compatible? I could not find any information about the SPI power Supply of USBizi 100

the 12bit refers to how many bits the ADC reads at. 8 bit will only get you 256 variations of value, the FEZ has 10 bit, or 1024 possibly readouts, 12 bit gives you 4,096 variations of value.

Think of it as a scale… with a 2 bit ADC you have possible values of:
1, 2, 3, 4.