Monday PCBgasm

Hey Terrence, hope you have plenty of tin foil…it’s nearly September :smiley:

4 Likes

@ Justin - Oh Man, that looks like Christmas. Going to store to get another roll of foil.
How is your soldering iron and magnifying glass?

@ Terrence - Still under 50 so don’t yet need a telescope :smiley:

Oven is awaiting parts which are somewhere out on the rural roads of Northland…

I just ordered some PCBs for my first real project last week :). I made a 2-layer for the peripheral and a 4-layer with a G120 and a WiFi-Module (plus the powermanagement and a interface) on it as Mainboard (just because I wanted to see how difficult that will be with 4-layers, it could also be done with a 2-layer). As I’m only a hobbyist, and I just have my tiny soldering-station (so no oven :-[) I’m looking forward how hard my design will be to solder (and if it even works at all :D)…
If it works I’ll upload some pictures :), but I just ordered boring green ones ;)…

@ glx - Look forward to seeing your first masterpiece all shiny and populated :slight_smile:

Oh I do :)…

By the way, where do you let your PCBs being produced? I first looked at a local store and on Eurocircuits but there I would have paid nearly 400€ for my PCBs (I think volume-production is much cheaper). Now I ordered it in China, I pay $33 for 25 of the 2-layer boards with HASL (the are only 160x28mm) and $68 for 10 of the 4-layer boards with immersion gold (they are 85x60mm) and they are shipped via DHL-Express (what costs $30, so I ordered some more PCBs that I actually need) that price is ok I think. Normaly I preferably buy things form local stores (if they have the things available) but as I don’t have a goldmine or something I chose the cheaper china-thing, let’s have a look what quality they have :).

@ glx - These ones were made locally in Middle Earth so the quality is better than China… But otherwise i usually use DFRobot for low to mid sized runs.