Mbuino as self powered device

I’m not an expert on this, but it appears that P0.3/ISP_COMMAND_USB_HIGH is not correctly implemented for the scenario where mbuino is self powered, but occasionally connected to USB. In this case, the LPC cannot correctly detect the USB connection. This signal should not be generated from +5V, but rather directly from VBUS_5V+.

Geoffrey

@ geoffreymbrown - I am uncertain as to what you mean by “self powered”, but for our design purpose, we have the pin High by +5V to ensure that the board is USB enumerated when the firmware is to be changed or updated.

PIO0_3/USB_VBUS (processor pin 9) has two functions.

This is from page 9, revision 2.3 of the LPC11U2x datasheet:

[quote]PIO0_3 — General purpose digital input/output pin. A
LOW level on this pin during reset starts the ISP
command handler. A HIGH level during reset starts
the USB device enumeration.

USB_VBUS — Monitors the presence of USB bus
power.[/quote]
That pin is required to be high if you want to enumerate USB. We are uncertain if the alternate USB_VBUS function was implemented in the base LPC11U2x firmware from mbed and subsequently has never been tested.

I understand why it’s pulled high – but you used the wrong voltage source. Imagine the following scenario:

I build a battery powered data logger. At some point (while powered up) I connect it to USB. The change – VBUS going high – will not be detected. Therefore the device will not attempt to connect to USB.

Rather than 5v, the pin should be connected to VBUS. The presence of a diode in your circuit then guarantees that pin will be pulled high only when the device is connected to USB.

Geoffrey

I see your point about the ISP. Not sure what the right answer is.

Geoffrey