Make a board myself

Hello

Let me introduce myself first:
My name is Rik, a student electronics from the Netherlands.

My idea is to make a board myself and for some classmates.
A domino board to be a bit more precise.
This because i want more I/O ports but still be able to connect arduino shields.

My idea was to place a bigger header on the backside.
There is a 10 pins I/O header but i would really like a bigger one, a 20 or 32 pins 1.27mm header would be much better. (32 pins 2.54mm wont fit i think.)
I have about 3 years experience with Eagle at the moment and i have soldered 100pins SMD stuff before so i really think i can make a modded domino board.

I dont have a domino board atm but i ordered one on smartfun a few mins ago, should arrive when i am back from my holiday (28 august)
But is it as simple as opening the eagle files of the normal domino and add a bigger header and connecting it to the right pins on the uC?
And are there other things i need to know?

Rik

Yes you can take the domino files and change them anyway you like…like add more pins.
The FEZ Rhino files will be online next week so you can also see what pins we have added. Rhino and Domino use the exact same chip, USBizi 144

Welcome Rik!

Making a board yourself is cool and fun considering the USBizi 144 chip, mentioned by Gus.

There is another person on the board who is doing the same (NETUINO project), you might be able to help eachother? :wink:

Here is the link:
[url]http://www.tinyclr.com/forum/5/401/[/url]

Good luck, and if you need help, feel free to ask!

Hmm, on the pic of the domino i saw a LPC2388 uC on it from NXP.
But you call it a USBizi 144.
A LPC2388 costs me 10 euro’s
An USBizi144 30 dollar’s

What is the difference between them, is an USBizi144 just a normal LPC2388 with a high price tag?
Or is an USBizi144 a LPC2388 with extra software loaded in it?