LCD LiveText

I whipped up a little helper class to make displaying things on an LCD shield a little easier. It creates a virtual screen that you can print to and scroll around the viewable area of the LCD.

(link removed)

cool! I hope you do not mind, I made the video visible on the page and added syntax highlighting on the code example.

Thanks for sharing

Awesome! I was wondering how to embed the video. I’m new to contributing to a Wiki and have found the instructions from MediaWiki a bit lacking and some things are just downright obtuse (why not just have a ‘add a new page’ button for instance?) It is far more helpful to look at other pages to see how they have been done.

Overall I really like having the Wiki to share ideas though. I had been thinking of adding a customer page to my own website so folks could showoff the projects they made with their CNC machines. I think a Wiki would be a great way to accomplish that so I really appreciate you guys creating the Wiki site for use users to share ideas and for opening my eyes as to how cool a Wiki can be.

I just uploaded a new version of the code with a few bug fixes and with all the extraneous references removed. The biggest bug was that the display would get corrupted if you tried to update or scroll the screen while it was flashing. Two functions were accessing the same array at the same time (one reading one writing) which is always a bad idea.

I did a bit of research on the locking/synchronization method used by the LED driver and found out that it fit the bill perfectly.

Jeff, great contribution mate, well done!

I got tired of zipping the project up and uploading it every time I made a change so I created a project for it on CodePlex: http://lcdlivetext.codeplex.com/

You can grab it via SVN now: https://LCDLiveText.svn.codeplex.com/svn