Issue with dl40-IO and taylorza firmware

Hi,
I am a french engineering student currently using gadgeteer with cerberus v4.2.6.1. For a project purpose I have to use dl40 in order to count pulses from an encoder. However I can’t manage to make the taylorza firmware to work properly.

I am using his test samples (TestCounter.cs). I have connected the 3.3v and the P0.2 to a touch-sensitive device and when I expect the program to count the number of time I short circuit the two pins it always displays on the debug output the same line :

Last Count : 18446744073709551615

which I believe is 2^64 - 1.

I have tried to update the firmware and to wire differently but I can’t figure out the solution.

Here is the code sample I am using :

class TestCounter
    {
        static DLIOModule Module;
        static IPulseCounterPin Counter;

public static void Run(DLIOModule module)
        {
            Module = module;

Counter = module.CreateCounterPin(0, 2,
              Microsoft.SPOT.Hardware.Port.ResistorMode.PullDown,
              Microsoft.SPOT.Hardware.Port.InterruptMode.InterruptEdgeHigh, true);

Gadgeteer.Timer timer = new Gadgeteer.Timer(1000);
            timer.Tick += new Gadgeteer.Timer.TickEventHandler(timer_Tick);
            timer.Start();
        }

static void timer_Tick(Gadgeteer.Timer timer)
        {
            // Read the counter value
            ulong reading = Counter.ReadCounter();

Debug.Print("Last Count : " + reading);
        }
    }

Thanks,
Joshua

Are you sure you update DL40 firmware correctly? It is not enough that you just use dll or C# source from Taylorza.

Oh how could I do that ? I have download the lastest DL40.bin file but I’m now quite sur on how to use it in order to update the firmware

No problem. You need to use this utility:
https://www.ghielectronics.com/community/codeshare/entry/641
Don’t forget to replace DL40.bin in resources directory and to plug DL40 on * side.