InvaidOperationException Filsystem

I’m currently trying to get the filesystem demo working on an external SSD that I have on hand. It’s a 500Gb Samsung drive formatted to exFat.

When I attempt to mount the filesystem, the InvalidOperationExcecption is thrown, and I don’t really know what’s going on. The DeviceconnectionEventArgs read just fine, as well. I’ve pasted the snippet of my code where the exception is being thrown below, any help is appreciated.

Additionally, I’m new to how you’re supposed to interact with a filesystem like this. My goal is to simply have the ability to write .bin/.txt files to the drive at the very least. If anyone has recommended reading or videos to this, that would be great too.

Is this a hint?

https:/docs.ghielectronics.com/software/tinyclr/tutorials/file-system.html

File System The file system library is subset of the full .NET file system support. Most example should work with without minor changes. The internal drivers fully support FAT16 or FAT32 file systems, with no limitations beyond the FAT file system itself! USB Mass Storage This allows file access on USB devices with MSC class, such as USB memory sticks. See the USB page. SD Card SD and MMC cards are fully supported as detailed on the SD tutorial page. The example below requires the GHIElectronics.TinyCLR.IO

Are you suggesting that exFat does not fit into FAT16 or FAT32? Other than that, I mount the filesystem the same way as the demo does here, and the demo does in the USB tutorial.

Exfat, NTFS, FAT12 and others are not supported. Only FAT16 and FAT32 are supported.

1 Like

My hint was a bit stronger than a suggestion but short of a absolute statement. :grinning:

But Gus is the absolute authority. He is also kind of cute…

2 Likes