Hydra and custom sockets

Hi

I’m new to Gadgeteer, my previous experience has been with Fez Rhino and so I’ve been reading up on the standard socket types etc.

In particular we need to support 16 analog inputs using a Fez Hydra and so we are planning to use the following analog mux.

http://www.sparkfun.com/products/9056

Now looking at the socket types at:

Will we be able to use socket 14 (Type A Y) on the Hydra and in code be able to set the pins on socket 14 such that we can use:

Pin 5 - Analog input
Pins 6,7,8,9 mux channel selector

Cheers

Yes. Use an extender module.

We are planning on having an analog input module. The analog sockets are best to be utilized to plug in modules but then you can add an “analog module” to read external signals.

You can built that module yourself as well.

[quote]the answer is no.

A sockets only have three pins to use as an output if you are using one as an analog input.
[/quote]

Yes pins 7,8,9 are marked as unconnected for socket A, but pin 6 is marked as GPIO for socket A so surely I could use all 4 pins (6,7,8,9) as digital output pins to drive the channel selection on the mux?

hmmm.

I had originally said no, but then changed my post.

socket 14 is also a Y socket which is all GPIO. The best way to answer your question is to look at the schematic. you would see that all the pins of socket 14 are connected to something.

No need for schematics. Socket Y has all 7digital pins and socket X has 3 digital.

Please review the socket map on support page.

Yes I was basing my assumption of using pins 6,7,8,9 based on the Y socket type that is listed plus the fact that pin 6 is marked as GPIO for the A socket type.

So I should be able to use the following code in my app?

GT.Socket socket = GT.Socket.GetSocket(14, true, null, null);

GT.Interfaces.DigitalOutput muxSelectionBit0 = new GT.Interfaces.DigitalOutput(socket, GT.Socket.Pin.Six, false, null);