How to use Wifi RS21 to set up an ad-hoc network?

I’d like to use the Wifi RS21 to set up an ad-hoc network (that is, as an ad-hoc access point). All the examples I’ve been able to find, show how to use the wifi module to attach to an AP.

From looking at the methods provided, it seems that I can’t do the AP end of things…

Any input on how to make that work the way I’d like? Samples, etc are greatly appreciated… :slight_smile:

josef

You have not told us what device you are using?

In the Premium library, there is the WiFiRS9110.StartAdHocHost Method.

BTW, ad hoc networks do not have access points. Communications is done host to host.

**** Oooops was thinking about another type of ad hoc network ****

Joe mentioned that it is there in this old thread:

http://www.tinyclr.com/forum/topic?id=3892

To Mike: I thought I mentioned that I was using the Wifi RS21. Is that not the device? (Please be kind, as I’m just learning the lingo around here. :-))

To Architect: Interesting thread, thanks for the pointer, however (and forgive me if I missed something) when I instantiated the wifi module, I didn’t see anything like a function that would allow me to set up an ad hoc network…

@ jzeevi - What device (mainboard) do you connect the Wifi RS21 to?

FEZ Spider

Ok. As Mike mentioned the module driver has a method through its Interface property:

wifi_RS21.Interface.StartAdHocHost(...)

Have you tried that?

No, but I will and thanks. There are lots of little pieces that I’m still figuring out. One I do wish was better was docs explaining all the functions and variables in a module.

Great! I would like to encourage you to contribute as well. If you make something working and there is no existing examples for that you can share the whole projects on Codeshare or write articles and tutorials on wiki.

Looks like this one need some update since the module driver has changed a lot:

After Opening your WiFi module and calling StartAdHocHost(…) also set your device IP address…