Hello guys :)

Hi you :)…

I already posted two or three times on this forum and I didn’t say ‘Hello’ until now :-[…

So: Hello :slight_smile:

I’m a 30 year old guy from germany, who likes electronic things :). In my job I’m doing something completly different, I’m a paramedic ;).
Currently I’m playing around with a G120TH-board and a RS9110-Wifi-module.

My current larger project is a text-clock, like these from [url]http://www.qlocktwo.com/[/url], but a bit more geeky ;). The display consists of segment-LED-displays and I’m trying to get the time from an NTP-server, maybe it gets some more features if I have some ideas :). I have made a working version with a G30 SoC, but I killed more than half of them trying to hand-solder them on my PCB :'(, I uploaded some pictures if someone wants to have a look :).

What kind of people are around here? Are you all professionals or more hobbyists?

5 Likes

welcome ! Glad to meet you and glad to have you on the forum here

Hobbyist for sure, but nothing quite as far off my “day job” as you have ! Great to see you taking the breadboarding to a new level - that dual breadboard for the larger TH module is a great idea that I’m somewhat ashamed to say I hadn’t thought of !

1 Like

HELLO! :slight_smile:

1 Like

@ glx - Somewhere in between hobbyist and professional on my end. I’m a software consultant as my day job, so the hardware stuff is more of a sideline, though I’ve been paid to teach people about it, so you could call that “professional.” :slight_smile:

I’ve designed a couple boards (Gadgeteer modules) with copious input from the community to help me avoid most of my own dumb mistakes.

Welcome!

1 Like

@ glx - Well, “hello”, I am an employee although I am not quite sure what I am supposed to be doing so I just talk to people on the forum. And don’t listen to anything @ devhammer says about me unless it is something good… :whistle:

1 Like