Hall Effect Sensor Question

Hello.
Does anybody have any sample code to check for a voltage change on a hall effect sensor? I saw a posting here: http://www.tinyclr.com/forum/2/554/ that seemed to say you can just use the Button Component, passing in Port.InterruptMode.InterruptEdgeLow as the last parameter to the constructor. Is this correct?

Will an easy component become available for sale on this site soon?

Thanks for your help.

• Chris

Yeah, this is a digital thing, not analog. The hall effect sensor will either read high or low. An interrupt is probably the best way to handle this.

Thanks. I understand what you mean by it being High/Low; my choice of words ‘voltage change’ probably wasn’t the best.

I’m new to the MF, and am looking for a quick code snippet I can use and override with my own handler for when the Hall Effect Sensor signals that its state has gone to High (or Low - whichever state it is when the magnet affects it).

Thanks again

Check out the ebook on the downloads page. Do a search for interrupts. That should at least get you started.

Also, what is this little baby icon next to my posts?! At least make it a boy baby! :slight_smile:

Once you get more posts in, it’ll change ;D

Check out the ranks page: http://www.tinyclr.com/forum/users/

He has a blue shirt on it has to be a boy.

Hi Gentlemen,
I’ve been trying this for quite some time now, and still can’t get this to work.

I purchased this Magnetic Field Sensor Board: RobotShop | Robot Store | Robots | Robot Parts | Robot Kits | Robot Toys

I have it hooked up to my Fez Domino’s Component Shield - in Di11. I’ve tried it in other Digital Ports too, and I know that this is working, because when I unplug the component from the board, the Interrupt Handler fires.

I have modified the Trackball code, stripping out all the LEDs and the push button stuff, so now it just accepts one FEZ_Pin.Interrupt / Port.InterruptMode, which I call like this: