GPS, timing accuracy

My first post, apologies in advance for being a complete noob in this area.

I’m looking into timestamping signals from a sensor by using a GPS. The accuracy has to be around 250 ns. Reason for the GPS is that there will be a network of sensors which all have to be on the same time line. I know C# and .NET very well but have understood from reading other posts here that for real-time applications one must use RLP. FEZ Panda 2 looks like the ideal choice in many ways but is it achievable in theory to obtain the kind of timing accuracy that I need?

Actually, your bigger issue is going to be GPS latency not timestamping. In my (admittedly minimal) exploration of GPS, you are limited to 10 or even less samples a second, all parsed into strings in a GPS NMEA output. All that string conversion is “costly” to get into useable numbers, therefore you’ll not really achieve what you want.

How were you thinking you’d keep this accuracy? What were your expectations before you asked the question? And what sensors do you have, and what sampling regime were you expecting to perform?

Lastly, welcome to the forums !

latency can be accounted for… most gps chips have an output pin which goes high at the time the chip calculates a new position. you can use a RLP interrupt handler to take any associated measurements. later, when the gps sentence has been parsed, you can associate it with the RLP measurement.

Your other option is to measure relative to CPU ticks. That should be fairly accurate, at least at the ns scale. Note that you probably can’t measure ticks from managed code in that short a time frame.

Thanks for the welcome!