General Stepper Motor Question

Hi guys, I’m a beginner just starting out with the .NET Gadgeteer and GHI hardware. I have a FEZ Cerberus Mainboard and I just put in an order for the Stepper L6470 Module.

FEZ Cerberus Mainboard
http://www.ghielectronics.com/catalog/product/349

Stepper L6470 Module
http://www.ghielectronics.com/catalog/product/418

I would like to buy a compatible stepper motor to use with the Stepper L6470 Module. My plan is to rotate something horizontally that weight at most 3 lbs and it will only be rotating a small amount every few minutes. I was looking at the stepper motors from Pololu but if there is a better choice let me know. I was going to purchase this one and I wanted to double check that it would work. This is my first attempt.

Stepper Motor: Bipolar, 200 Steps/Rev, 28×45mm, 4.5V, 0.67 A/Phase

I was going to try to power everything from 4 AA chargeable (1.2V 2,300 mAh) connected to a 7watt solar panel. The batteries should put out max 4.8V right? I guess this means my batteries would have to have a nice full charge to make the motor move? Maybe I should get the next one down at 3.8v?

Stepper Motor: Bipolar, 200 Steps/Rev, 28×32mm, 3.8V, 0.67 A/Phase

These are the two items from Goal Zero I was going to use to power everything.

Guide 10 Plus Battery Back

Nomad 7 Solar Panel

Well any suggestions or comments you have would be greatly appreciated

Thanks,
-eric.

The stepper module needs 8 to 48 volts to run; so it needs more than 3v8 to operate. Since these are chopper mode drivers the should use less current but I’ve never actually thought to test just how much. I may do that and post it.

But you need 8 of those batteries not 4.