Gadgeteer Mainboard in tool box is not usable

I am new to gadgeteer. After getting my board updated, I started to follow the starter kit guide for FEZ Spider.
But the GHI Mainboards in the toolbox became unusable after I created the new Gadgeteer Application from VC#2010.
Can anybody help? Am I missing something in the setup? The boards are in there when I used showall option for toolbox.
But they are greyed out. Thanks!

Hi Raabs, sorry to hear you’ve not got this working. I think we’ve seen this at least once before, and I am taking a big stab here, the install order was the problem? Do you think that might be possible? I’m going to hit search and I might be back with an update.

http://www.tinyclr.com/forum/topic?id=8692&page=1#msg86392 seems the closest I can find; removing and reinstalling the SDKs in the order shown helped. That’s my suggestion.

Thanks for the reply. The order is what I suspected. So I uninstalled everything and tried to follow the order specified in the doc.
I still had problem witha C# express. I then tried I a different machine, where it has Visual Studio.
I got a better result - that .Net Gadgeteer Application (NETMF 4.2) works, I can add the main board and other modules.
But the .Net Gadgeteer Application (NETMF 4.1) still doesn’t work.
Is that expected? It only works with 4.2?
Does that mean I have to update the firmware to 4.2 also?
But when I read the 4.1 to 4.2 update document it says if you want WiFi, one should stay with 4.1.
So I am little confused about what is available and what is supported?
Sorry for these silly questions, but I am very new to this.

There’s no silly questions so don’t worry too much. You’ve just arrived here at a time when there’s some churn in versions so there’s a bit more to think about.