Gadgeteer 10 pin connector reliability

I want to make my own Gadgeteer main boards. I cannot make up my mind on using the SM or TH version of the 10 pin header.
I am concerned that if i use the SM version that people will rip off the connectors. Has this been any kind of an issue using the SM versions?

Also, has anyone bumped into a female SM version that would plug into the male version. I.E. if one were to make a board that would mount on top of the main board so the connectors would plug into one another without cables.

Thanks.

I’ll preface this by saying that I’m not an expert in this by any means, but having soldered quite a few of these sockets onto my modules at this point, I would be VERY surprised if someone was able to accidentally rip off a SM version of the socket. Given that we’re talking about 10 pins soldered to 10 pads, it would require quite a bit of leverage to pull the socket off, and from some of my attempts at de-soldering parts, the pads might even pull off the PCB before the solder joints let go.

So unless you were soldering a TH version with through-plated holes, I don’t know that you buy much by going TH. Arguably, TH sockets in through-plated holes would likely be more secure. But I’m not sure it’s a big enough difference to be the deciding factor in which to use.

I’d try a couple and see which is easier/cheaper to assemble, and decide on that basis.

The only reason i bring it up is that i remember seeing a post here that someone had ripped the connector off the board.
I agree that it would take quite a bit to rip off the SM connector, but then again i am ginger with my stuff.
i have tried both, the TH version would make it nearly impossible to pull off.

Just wanted to see how well the SM version is fairing up out there.