G400_D Updating firmware

I have modified the original post…

Thank you all who have offered suggestions.

My Original G400-D is now operational.

I should be happy but I’m not sure if I am because I do not know what I did (If anything) to solve my problem of not being able to update the G400 firmware.

All day long I was receiving FEZ Config error dialog:
“Interrupt while deploying. Updating failed!”

This was during Config.hex… fail!

Then, all of a sudden, it worked!

I’m no expert, but I saw there are instructions of how to do it from the command line here : https://www.ghielectronics.com/docs/112/g400

However, from what I understand that will only be possible when the new TinyBooter will become available.

(Also waiting with anticipation for my beta kit to arrive)

@ KiwiSaner -

I assume you mean

Beta TinyBooter Update Procedure:

The following steps are necessary to update the G400 Beta TinyBooter:

This uses the G400 Beta Programmer with sam-ba.

This works for me all the time:

I am asking about a manual firmware update procedure like that found for:

Firmware_Update_USBizi: USBizi, FEZ Domino, FEZ Panda, FEZ Panda II, FEZ Rhino, FEZ Mini.
Firmware_Update_EMX: EMX, FEZ Cobra, FEZ Spider.
Firmware_Update_FEZ_Cerberus: FEZ Cerberus, FEZ Cerbuino, FEZ Cerb40
Firmware_Update_FEZ_Hydra: FEZ Hydra
Firmware_Update_ChipworkX: ChipworkX

https://www.ghielectronics.com/docs/127/firmware-update

Thanks for your input…

@ willgeorge

I also had problems updating my G400-D using MFConfig or FexConfig. I was able to update it after I realized that I was using the wrong version of the updater.

The one that you want to use is named G400 Beta Programmer.zip and not G400 Beta Updater(4.2.0.0).zip. G400 Beta Programmer.zip has the file G400_Timybooter.bin with a date stamp of 5/30/2013.

Once I updated the G400D with the correct (latest) version I was then able to update the firmware using FezDeploy and MF Config.

@ scardinale -

Thanks… I’ll look into it.