G30 Design Project

I have been assigned a project (my first real design project as an engineer in industry ;D) by my company which requires me to program a G30 and assimilate it into a system which I am redesigning. I am completely new to embedded design but am a decent programmer with C# being my strong point (hence why I chose the GHI chips instead of a micro-controller which uses C).

Here is a basic overview of the project. What I need to do is program a G30 to take input from a hall effect sensor and control a DC stepper motor (capable of 0.1 degree steps) based on the hall effect sensors input. The G30 must also interface with a display (it only needs to send basic text over the SPI interface). The motor also needs to be controlled by a rocker switch. A calibration mode and switch will also be present.

I am starting with a G30 development board in order to familiarize myself with programming micro-controllers. Currently my program can turn the display back-light on and I can control both the display and the LED located at pin PC7 with one of the buttons. Next I would like to send basic text to the display. I have the brainpad display classes in my code but am not sure how to implement them. This is the first part I need help with.

The next part I will need help with is DC stepper motor control. I currently have an IMSPlus motor controller and a Scheiner M-1713-1.5S motor to control (I will be replacing these with cheaper alternatives in the final design but this is what I have to begin learning the motor control aspects of my program)

Thank you in advance for the help, I greatly appreciate it.

1 Like

@ hwalker_MIWV - Good luck with your first real world project - exciting times and scary in equal measure :slight_smile:

I have done a similar project to what you have spec’d with excellent results.

Display is basically an N18 https://www.ghielectronics.com/catalog/product/425