Firmware issue with STM32F40x LQFP100 vs LQFP64

The Cerbuino uses a 64pin STMF4 chip. My custom board uses the same chip in a 100pin layout. My firmware runs, but all the pins are mapped incorrectly.

For example, PB12 is (Cpu.Pin)33 and PA1 is (Cpu.Pin)1. I have an LED on PA1 and buzzer on PB12, and I can work with them but the pins should like 51 and 24 not 33 and 1.

I assumed there was a header file or something I’d need to change in the firmware for the 100pin vs 64pin layout. Has anyone else already figured this out? I’m a newbie. Any help is appreciated.

The porting ebook under support page is a good start.

1 Like

So, after a little more digging (and testing) it doesn’t seem to matter. There’s a file in the firmware called CPU.cs which has entries like this…

public static class Pins
{
public const Cpu.Pin GPIO_PIN_A_0 = (Cpu.Pin)0;

public const Cpu.Pin GPIO_PIN_A_1 = (Cpu.Pin)1;

…Etc.

While the code says “Cpu.Pin” it isn’t actually representing physical CPU pins. (Cpu.Pin)1 is physical CPU pin 25 on my big 100 pin chip and pin 15 on the 64pin Cerbuino board.

It seems to me like this is a non-issue. I don’t have to change any code. So far I just code to the pin based on the CPU.cs file, then look at my diagram of the CPU to see where PA1, PB12, etc. are connected.

I know you’ve probably figured this out, but just for others who may stumble upon this topic:

Cpu.Pin corresponds to port pins, not physical package pins, which is consistent with every other development environment out there.

Consecutive port pins (say, A0 through A15) rarely map to consecutive pins on the package, and parallel interfaces used to be fairly common (so you’d do things like PORTA = 0xFF to output 0xFF – all 1s – on the port). If your GPIO functions used physical device pins, you wouldn’t be able to do nice parallel operations. And you’d have to have a lot of nasty switch/case statements to make sure you weren’t trying to write to a special-function pin.