Files written on sdCard unreadable on PC

Hi guys,

I’m pretty new to this and got stuck with this simple thing that i can’t figure it out.

I want to log the temperature value for example in a text file. I can read and write the file on the .NET Gadgeteer program but when I open the file on my computer the information is not human understandable :slight_smile:

For example “Hello SD card” gets stored as “OSJ÷«`zÓ«zc.ƒ” …

I need to read the file on the computer because I’m using the data to plot a graph.

I’m using the Fez Spider mainboard.

This is the Program.cs file:

using System;
using System.Collections;
using System.Threading;
using Microsoft.SPOT;
using Microsoft.SPOT.Presentation;
using Microsoft.SPOT.Presentation.Controls;
using Microsoft.SPOT.Presentation.Media;
using Microsoft.SPOT.Touch;
using System.Text;

using Gadgeteer.Networking;
using GT = Gadgeteer;
using GTM = Gadgeteer.Modules;
using Gadgeteer.Modules.GHIElectronics;
using Gadgeteer.Modules.Seeed;
using System.IO;

namespace HomeSensorize
{
    public partial class Program
    {
        void ProgramStarted()
        {
            sdCard.SDCardMounted += new SDCard.SDCardMountedEventHandler(sdCard_SDCardMounted);
        }

void sdCard_SDCardMounted(SDCard sender, GT.StorageDevice SDCard)
        {
            string rootDirectory = sdCard.GetStorageDevice().RootDirectory;
            StreamWriter textFile = new StreamWriter(rootDirectory + @ "\hello.txt", true);
            textFile.WriteLine("Hello SD card");
            textFile.Close();

FileStream fileStream = new FileStream(rootDirectory + @ "\hello.txt", FileMode.Open);
            byte[] data = new byte[fileStream.Length];
            fileStream.Read(data, 0, data.Length);
            fileStream.Close();
            string text = new string(Encoding.UTF8.GetChars(data));

Debug.Print(text);
        }
    }
}

Also, where could I get some extra information on the alternative ways of writing data to the file system ?

Thanks