FEZ stopped working

Hello, I am a complete beginner to the FEZ and am starting with C# for the first time. I have been working through the start-up tutorial (FEZ Tutorial) and everything seemed to work okay except in two areas.

First, when I ping the FEZ using the Deployment tool, it just displays ‘Pinging… TinyCLR’ And nothing else happens.

Secondly, when the device was first connected it seemed to have it’s LED flashing away happily. When I deployed the program to the device the LED stopped blinking and has remained so even after disconnecting or resetting, When reconnecting even on a different computer the LED lights up but very dimly.

What have I done? :frowning: How do I remedy this? Help …

Thanks in advance. TC

Is your USB port providing enough power to the device? You know how some external HDD enclosures have 2 usb host plugs? See if you get a hold of one of those and try it with fez, or try powering it up with a regulated 7V power supply with the correct polarity.

Reread the parts of the manual about installing drivers and updating the firmware, that is usually what gets everyone the first time around.

Thank you for your swift reply.

I should qualify, the power LED is very bright but it is the LED next to the UEXT that is dim. When I fist installed the device it blinked brightly but after sending data to the device it switched off. Then after I disconnected it and re connected (even to a different PC) the LED just eliminated dimly. My instinct is that something is amiss in terms of resetting itself. Maybe I can run some small test program to see if I can get the LED blinking again? I do have a variable DC power supply; it offers 3v, 4.5v, 5v, 6v, 9v and 12v. Do you think I should use that to power it? Would I use it as well as connecting to the USB?

Thanks again.

TC

Hi TopCat,

the LED is connected to a normal pin. So you can use it for diplaying the state of the pin

You can try out :