FEZ Spider to smartcard

I am fairly new to embedded development and am trying to learn some things on my own but I seem to be stuck.

I have a FEZ Spider and am trying to communicate with a smartcard. I have a smartcard breakout board wired up to a gadgeteer breakout module. As far as I understand, I can use TWI or Serial to communicate with the smartcard. I would like to use serial, as I feel it will better fit my application.

My first issue is I’m not 100% sure how to wire the smartcard breakout to the breakout module. Serial uses one pin for Tx and one for Rx, but the smart card has one bidirectional I/O pin. I’ve read that I am supposed to short the two pins together but I couldn’t get that to work either.

My second issue is in the code, what do I need to do for the smartcard’s reset pin.

If I could get some assistance on this that would be great!

Welcome to the forum!

For people to help you better, can you provide a link to smartcard/breakout board?

Thanks for the reply.

The breakout board I’m using is this one: https://www.sparkfun.com/products/retired/9440
And the smartcard is an Atmel AT88SC0404C. I have the datasheet for the smartcard as well if that helps.

I forgot new users to the forum can’t post … but quoting it shows it.

http://www.atmel.com/Images/doc2023s.pdf

This isn’t my forte, but it looks to be a I2C bus, aka 2 wire serial.

Ah, sorry about that.

If I understand correctly, the smartcard can be communicated with using I2C or serial using a UART. The major issue i have is how to wire it up correctly. I can likely figure out majority of the code once I know I have it wired properly. Like I said the only software issue I can foresee is what to do with the reset wire.

I have an example of someone doing something similar with the same card and they said they needed to use a 9600 baud UART with 8 data bits, even parity,and one stop bit, which sounds like serial to me. But unfortunately I don’t have any more information than that.