FEZ QuadCopter startup

Hi All,

Perhaps Im a bit off-topic, so please forgive me. I’m a professional C# programmer and a noob on hardware. Just started with the FEZ Panda 2 and love working with it. I finished my robot project and would now really love to see a creation that can actually fly. So for the upcoming winter I’ll set my focus to a quad copter.

I’ve got an idea, but perhaps someone can already point out some stupid mistakes.

For instance, I’d like to create my own remote control, and the quad copter has to be driven by the FEZ Panda 2. To do so I just ordered 2 XBee series 2 professional’s. I already have 2 FEZ Panda’s. I intend to create the remote with one FEZ / XBee and the quad logic / receiver with the other one. It has more than a mile “line of sight” distance and should be fast enough to process the commands.

I know there are a lot of concerns about the FEZ using the GC and messing up the timing, not being real time etc… but that’s the challenge i’d like to try and solve (could be that I fail, but trying is half the fun).

First challenge would be a quad that simply flies stable. I’m thinking about the WII Motionplus remote. It has all the gyro’s etc. aboard to see if it’s “stable” and I intent to correct this if it’s not. I know there is a WII Motioncontroller library available to use and possibly to alter for WII motionplus.

I’d like to have this project running within my lifetime so will buy the frame from HobbyKing (Radio Control Planes, Drones, Cars, FPV, Quadcopters and more - Hobbyking). Hope they deliver in Holland where I live (therefore also my apologies for this bad English writing as it it not my native language).

I’ve read some about Turnigy and hope 4 Turnigy D3542/5 1250KV Brushless Outrunner Motor’s will do the job of lifting the frame, FEZ, WII controller and battery packs.

I already have a Li-Poly balancer / loader and need to study some more on the battery packs needed to sustain some minutes of flight.