FEZ Panda II USB SD card reader

Hello,

I’m new to programming with .NETMF etc, so apologies if I’ve missed something really obvious.

What I’m trying to do is to get get the USB Client - Mass Storage code example (GHI Electronics – Where Hardware Meets Software) to work on a FEZ Panda II board. The code seems to compile without any error or warnings, and I have a 16Gb SDHC card permanently inserted into the reader, with a test file that I’d written with some earlier test code on the SDHC card (I’m no longer writing any new data to the card).

My expectation, having compiled and downloaded the code was that the SD card (and it’s contents) would appear as a USB removable storage device in “My Computer” on windows - and hence I’d be able to access the SD card here. However, the SD card does not appear in “My Computer”. So far as I can tell, Windows sees the FEZ Panda II as a “GHI .NET Micro Framework USB Debugging Interface” according to the device manager.

Any ideas what I’ve done wrong and how I can fix it?

Thanks,
Stu

Welcome Stu!

Did you switch your board to COM debugging? Also check the forum Mass Storage was discussed multiple times,

First place to check for answers is the Downloads & Tutorial area of this site.

I think it should be USB debugging since I previously ran the “USB debugging with virtual COM channel” example - which requires the download of a new driver which I believe I’m now using.

S

Ok, having searched again through some of the forums, it seems some of the posts mention a mode pin, of which further details are given in the “book & wiki” - which book may I ask? It’s not mentioned in the “Beginners guide to NETMF.pdf” (I searched) - is there another book that I’ve missed?

I’ve tried connecting the mode pin (previously open circuit) to ground, then re-powering the device and trying to ping it with MFDeploy. I get no response from COM1, COM3, or USB. Removing the jumper and re-powering the device I do get a response from USB.