FEZ Panda II new user problem

I just received my FEZ Ultimate Kit, on Friday, installed the software, updated the FEZ to the latest firmware, which resulted in creating COM9 in the Device Manager. The problem is when I tried a Debug of a program, I get an error which reads:

An unhandled exception of type ’ System.InvalidOperationException ’ occured in FEZPanda_II_GHIElectronics.NETMF.FEZ.dll
Additional information: FEZ Panda II not detected!

In the following program I added the ‘Add Reference’ :
-FEZPanda_GHIElec …
-Microsoft.SPOT.Hardware

So as a beginner I do not know why the program is not working. Any help is appreciated.

Thanks

[CODE]
using System;
using Microsoft.SPOT;
using Microsoft.SPOT.Hardware;

using GHIElectronics.NETMF.FEZ;

namespace Test1
{
public class Program
{
public static void Main()
{

}

}

}

[/CODE]

See this http://tinyclr.com/forum/1/4540/#/1/msg42845

hi,
be sure sdk and firmware are same version!
Judasis

I think he is trying to run on emulator :slight_smile: he needs to select tbd correct device.

I downloaded and installed what is on the GHI site. I purchased this kit from GHI, if that makes a difference. The latest firmware update was 4.1.7.0, and the sdk is was 4.0. Since I had a successful firmware update, I am assuming that the board itself is healthy. I also did three installations before I got it to install the COMx correctly, I guess I am still missing something, but what?

I am using VS C# express 2010, just updated, I did not see any port settings in VS, so it may not be looking for the device on COM9. I tried to run the emulator, with no success. I am determined to get this thing working …

Oh, the system, Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit with 8 gig of ram, so I have plenty of resources.

Open project properties.
Select the very bottom tab ".NET Micro Framework"
Transport = Emulator.

For device:
Transport = USB
Make sure your device is plugged in :wink: