FEZ panda II: help please! having trouble communicating between frameworks using serial ports

Hello, I am new with the FEZ panda, and netmf, but I am very familiar with C# as I am a computer scientist.

I am currently using a .NET framework program to create a user interface which communicates with the FEZ panda II through com ports. When i deploy the program in debug mode and open COM1 on the hardware, the PC .NET4.0 framework doesn’t say that there are any com ports available.

Also, I am told that a com port should open when I connect the Panda to my computer, however, the only port that opens (sometimes) is COM3 which is label as a bootloader interface.

Does anyone know whats wrong??

Thanks in advance!!

On the pc?! You mean the emulator?

I think you are confusing the com ports of the device with the ports on your pc?

Right, but I guess my question is: how do i access the com ports on my device from the PC side? or vice versa? also are there any programs that allow you to monitor said com ports?

thanks!

oh, I see. you are trying to transfer data from the device to your PC…

The device is just like another PC. The software you run inside the device controls the ports on the device itself and has nothing to do with your development machine, your dev machine is only sued to debug the software on the device and that is the only connection point.

To transfer data, you need some sort of connection that you use to transfer data, could be an ethernet port, serial port or USB.

The easiest one is by using the RS232 shield, or better, if you have the Panda ultimate kit then you already have usb2serial eblock that you can use with FEZ Connect shield.