FEZ Panda II Connecting to 2 DHT11

Hi,

I am new to putting hardware together.

I am trying to connect 2 DHT11 sensors from DFRobot to my FEZ Panda II. (Please see attached image)

Although I am getting readings from both DHT11, the readings are inconsistent. (Sometimes up to 5 degrees C apart). If I pull out one of the data pins, it would affect the reading of the other DHT11 that is still connected. (Yikes!)

I think I’m doing something wrong with the circuit. Can anyone kindly point me to the right directions?

Thanking you in advance!

Jacob

Hi Jacob, and welcome to the Forums !!!

DHT11, what code are you using? Did you use the “two-pin” variant on http://www.tinyclr.com/codeshare/entry/228 or did you use the RLP variant on http://www.tinyclr.com/codeshare/entry/278 ?

To troubleshoot this, I personally would only connect one at a time, and roughly measure the temperature and average it over say 20 samples with the two sensors individually. So take a set of readings from one that tell you it’s now say 25 degrees C, and then replace the data pin connection to the other sensor and repeat the sample set and see if the value still changes so dramatically.

Hi Brett,

Thank you very much and thanks for responding.

I followed your suggestions and tested the sensors. Good thing I bought a few extras to test. The results aren’t very encouraging:

I tested 4 sensors. 3 of them have about the same temperature reading and one was about 3 degrees C off.

But of the 3 sensors, only 2 agree on humidity reading while the other was off by about 20%.

Assuming I wired everything correctly, I think I may have some faulty sensors or that these sensors (especially the humidity reading) is awfully unreliable.