FEZ Panda 2 crash on motor run

Hi All,

I’m very new to all this but i’m stuck for days allready so am hoping for some help. I have the FEZ Panda 2 controller running on the latest firmware. On top of that I stocked the fez connect shield and on top of that is the DFIRobot DFRduino L298p shield.

M1 and M2 are both connected to a 6v, 180rpm DC Geared motor. A 6pack AA batteries power my FEZ Panda 2. I’ve got the motor shield on “power from internal device”. I know it’s powering the engine’s because as the microcontroller boots they run at full speed.

But when I start controlling the engines with the FEZ Panda 2 it seems to freeze all the time. I’m using the following code to initialize:

static PWM _pwm1;
            static OutputPort _dir1;
            static PWM _pwm2; static OutputPort _dir2;
            static sbyte _last_speed1, _last_speed2;

static public void Initialize()
            {
                _pwm1 = new PWM((PWM.Pin)FEZ_Pin.PWM.Di5);
                _dir1 = new OutputPort((Cpu.Pin)FEZ_Pin.Digital.Di4, false);
                _pwm2 = new PWM((PWM.Pin)FEZ_Pin.PWM.Di6);
                _dir2 = new OutputPort((Cpu.Pin)FEZ_Pin.Digital.Di7, false);
            }

And there are functions to set the speed and direction as well:

static public void Move(sbyte speed1, sbyte speed2)
            {
                if (speed1 > 100 || speed1 < -100 || speed2 > 100 || speed2 < -100)
                    new ArgumentException();
                _last_speed1 = speed1;
                _last_speed2 = speed2;

if (speed1 < 0)
                    _dir1.Write(true);
                else
                    _dir1.Write(false);

_pwm1.Set(1000, (byte)(Math.Abs(speed1)));

////////////////////////////       
                if (speed2 < 0)
                    _dir2.Write(true);
                else

_dir2.Write(false);
                _pwm2.Set(1000, (byte)(Math.Abs(speed2)));

}
            static public void MoveRamp(sbyte speed1, sbyte speed2, byte ramping_delay)