FEZ Hydra problems with CP7 display

Hi everyone,

I’m new to netmf gadgeteer and I’m having a couple of issues with the FEZ Hydra and the CP7 display.

Before I delve in, I’ll say that I have the latest TinyCLR firmware and Tinybooter 4.2.6.2.

On my computer I have Visual Studio 2010 Express, NETMF SDK 4.2, and NETMF and Gadgeteer Package 2014 R1 installed.

And here is the major caveat… I’m building my project in visual basic. I did some searching here and didn’t find too much help for vb, though I now c# and vb get compiled into the same .net code basically. The reason I chose VB is because at my job, VB.Net 2010 is used extensively and it would really be beneficial for me to learn it. I figured this project would be a good opportunity to get two birds with one stone.

Ok, here are the two issues I’m having:

1. I can’t seem to run debug mode while using the cp7. Every time the project gets deployed, the following message turns up in the debug output screen:

[quote]Using mainboard GHI Electronics FEZHydra version 1.2
Updating display configuration. THE MAINBOARD WILL NOW REBOOT.
To continue debugging, you will need to restart debugging manually (Ctrl-Shift-F5)[/quote]

Whenever I actually hit Ctrl-Shift-F5, it basically goes through the entire deploy process again and I end up with the same message, right back where I was.

I saw another topic on this issue that basically entailed including the display module library in your project, or editing and rebuilding the display module, but as a newbie I’m a bit unsure about this method, and I don’t think the project inclusion would really work since I’m using VB.

1. I saw the following on the Hydra developer guide for changing the pixel clock divider to stop flickering:

Register LCDCON1 = new Register(0x00500800);
LCDCON1.ToggleBits(0x2000);