Fez Hat act as Relay for Garage door switch?

My question: Does the Fez Hat have the ability to act as a relay for a higher voltage 5-15v like a garage door opener switch? I want to trigger it with code, of course. I just need to know the best way to wire to the door switch and trigger the doors.

Background: I’m new to the Fez Hat. I’m building a wireless 2-door garage door opener and monitor with it and a Rpi3. It will tell me door state(open/closed/moving) with some magnetic reed switches, light, temperature off the fez and such. I’m about done with the logic and communication. I just need to know the best way to wire to the switch and trigger the doors. Hopefully without having to buy a separate relay board.

Ideas? Thanks
Dave

welcome to the forum !

I suspect that you don’t want to directly connect any of the connections from the roller door controller to your Fez Hat. You will need a separate relay that you can control via a GPIO, which can then control the door.

What is your background in electronics? How comfortable are you doing this kind of electronics work?

Same as Brett, a relay is the safest way and most door openers have a contact closer input that can be used to open and close the door remotely. A relay isolates your Fez from any voltages on the door opener. Safest option.

For door open closed detection, just install magnetic switches in each position and feed into a GPIO input and then you will know which state the door is in.

Thank you for your help! About 25 years ago I earned an electronics degree in college, but I’ve forgotten it all. It’s coming back slowly. Resistor color codes are a lot hard to see than the once were! I’ve been on the software side since college. That said, I know my way around a multimeter, ohms law, soldering and such. I’ve got the magnetic reed switches in place and wired them into the Analog inputs. Actually, I’m just using a breadboard right now, as I’m still prototyping.