FEZ Domino Serial Debug

Hi All,

I want to change the Fez Domino Board to use the Serial Shield for debugging. I have read that I need to do something with the Mode Jumpers to tell the board to use Serial Port for Debugging instead of the USB Client port as I want to use this as a composite usb for mouse/keyboard commands to the PC. Please could some one guide me as to what I need to do from a hardware point of view with the board. (I have tried Virtual Com with Debugging but cant get that to work with Mouse/Keyboard clients as well so need to switch the Debug mode to Serial.)

Any Help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

The jumper place is in the middle of the board. From there you can follow the USB client section in the book

Thanks for the quick reply. Sorry probably a dum question but I’m a coder so not very clued up about the hardware. What do i need to do with the jumper? cant really find any info on this anywere. Do I need to solder a wire or something?
Cheers

Forgot to mention that there are no pins on the board at the mode position just 2 holes where I’m guessing the Jumper Pins should be?

Sorry I need to be more clear. Yes you need to solder a jumper or a wire

Cool will give that a try. Many thanks…

For what its worth. Here is another way to add a serial port using ft232 board and just keep your primary port for debug. Mostly did as a reference to myself when I need it later and forget everything. I think I will use this way for now, because I can keep my debug on the std mini-B for all Fezs without having to think about it or change things between projects. And then just use a ft232 when I want a dedicated serial channel.

[url]http://staceyw1.wordpress.com/2011/03/18/connect-com-ports-to-fez-via-usb/[/url]

To which com port I should connect to use serial debug? I can’t find any info on the Internet.

Welcome to the forum.

What device do you have?

Sorry, as in topic, FEZ Domino