FEZ Cerberus Firmware Update?

Hey guys, I purchased a FEZ Cerberus board many months ago and tried to get started with the .NET Gadgeteer and the GHI NETMF software but I was never able to get anything to work. BTW I am very new this the hardware side of things, but I have been programing in .NET and Java for several years. As far as I can tell I need to update the Firmware on my FEZ Cerberus board but I have not had any success yet.

I just decided to come back and try again this weekend. I have downloaded all the necessary software and I am now on the last page of the GHI NETMF installer and it gives the option to update the firmware but all I see are FEZ Spider, FEZ Hydra, G120, and EMX (FEZ Cobra) on the list. Why does this list not include the FEZ Cerberus?

Again I am really new at hardware side of things and I would LOVE to get started but I just can’t seem to get the board to work correctly.

Thanks everyone,
-eric

@ Eric P. - Updating the Cerberus firmware is a little different than the other devices. You can find the details here.
http://www.ghielectronics.com/docs/55/firmware-update-fez-cerberus

1 Like

http://www.ghielectronics.com/docs/55/firmware-update-fez-cerberus

1 Like

Thanks for the fast reply. I have tired these steps months ago when I first purchased the board. I tried them again tonight and I still am not able to get the Firmware updated. I am not even sure what version its currently running and if it even needs updating. This time I was not able to see the BOOTLOADER show up in the Printers list like it did the first time. I have a jumper I use to put the board in LOAD mode.The first time I was using Windows 7 this time I am using Windows XP, I am not sure if that would matter…Win7 is 64bit and I think my XP is 32bit.

I also tried to create a simple program with the board, the red power board and a light sensor. When I run the application I see the following at the bottom of VS in the status bar.