Fast enough for pathfining (robot)?

Hi,

i am quite new in using microcontrollers and my first project (arduino, just simple do something when the user hits the button) is done.

I am interested in building a simple robot, that would be able to navigate in my flat.
In my job i am a .net developer so it would be great to use a microcontroller with the .net micro framework on it. But i am a bit skeptikal if the interpreted c# is fast enough to execute some navigation / pathfinding algorithms on it. Or would it be better to just write c(++) code, that is not interpreted?

Thank you for your advice,
Daniel!

Welcome to the forum!

It should be possible. I think somebody did something similar before. For sure there is a code to balance a two wheeler robot which is a similar complexity.

Architect would be much more knowledgeable than me on this, for sure, but for pathfinding itself, I think there’s plenty of processing power, especially in a board like the Raptor.

2-wheel balancing needs to make very fine adjustments many times a second (both reading sensors, and adjusting servos) so if someone has gotten that to work, then pathfinding (which, it seems to me, needs an order of magnitude less processing power) should be a piece of cake.

There -was- a “line following” type of gadgeteer module available awhile ago, that was used with even the slower boards:

https://www.ghielectronics.com/catalog/product/451

It was fast enough to prevent bots from going off tables, supposedly, so I am assuming some people got that to work. (it is discontinued now though)