Exceptions with Line Numbers in StackTrace

I am new to NETMF (4.3) and while writing an error logger for our application, it seems that there are no line numbers available with the Exception.StackTrace property in NETMF, although the MSDN-NETMF-4.3-documentation for that property on

says “… to follow the call stack to the line number in the method …”

I tried setting “Debug info:” to full (for Debug build) or pdb-only (for Release build) in the VS2012 Project/Properties/Build/Advanced dialog, but line numbers aren’t available, neither in Debug nor in Release build.

The only thing I get with the StackTrace is an [IP: xxxx]-value for each StackTrace-entry in the m_stackTrace byte-array which may be something like an local “instruction pointer” or similar?. Am I doing something wrong or could anyone confirm the lack of line numbers?

If they are not already implemented in NETMF, maybe this would be worth a feature request on CodePlex. I think line numbers in the Exception.StackTrace would be very useful, not only for Debugging but also for extensively testing Release builds (with pdb files).

@ Harald - My initial reading of the line in that link is that the StackTrace string provides a way for you to follow the call chain manually until you get to the end, which should hopefully bring you to the exact line that threw, but I could be wrong.

@ John - I can’t find a line number anywehere in the Exception.StackTrace, neither at the end nor anywhere. Has anybody tried this in practice and can give me a hint how or where I can find the exception’s line number, maybe I am just overlooking something ?

I haven’t seen any line number in NETMF callstacks so far.
What I do sometimes is to set the Debugger to stop on specific exceptions, even if they are handled.