Exception handling, logging and always on? Coding patterns, tips & tricks...?

Hi all

There are so many wise heads here, but I have been looking for really experienced advice on how to structure your code and the underlying subsystems, to make sure all errors are caught and the system can keep running without manual intervention.

Most of my setups has been prototyping and demonstrating whats possible, which gives a focus to “will it work”? And not “will this continue for years without problems”?

Exceptions thrown from the netmf and gadgeteer layers does not seem very good, and acting on them might be problematic?

Logging to SD-card or other media for later debugging is also a kind of wizardry-skill to make sure you log enough but not too much?

I havent found any meaningful resources for this, can you help?

3 Likes

I’m relatively new to the world of reliable resource-constrained computing. All of the patterns and practices I have in my toolkit are designed for the world of effectively-unlimited resources, and all of my micro-controller work so far has only had to survive the length of a demo. I would be very interested in how people have addressed this question.

I would add to the specific things that @ njbuch mentions: the use of telemetry (for health and perf monitoring) and watchdog timers. Do you routinely include a watchdog timer and what recovery strategies do you use?

On a larger scale, there’s also the question of failsafe design for networks of devices. If you have a thermostat in your living room and a relay actuator on your boiler, have you included fail-safes (such as a local thermister at the boiler with absolute min and max ambient temps)?

There’s probably a whole book to be written (or maybe one already out there to be read) on these topics.

1 Like

@ njbuch - Now I don’t have a complete template project, that one could use in VS, that would be nice.