Delayed Gratification

So, I’ve been playing around with hardware for just shy of 4 months now, and I think I’ve identified the sole thing that I hate about it, and it’s a big one.

With software, I almost never have to wait for anything (outside of XBOX 360 games, anyway, and even then most are downloadable in minutes on a FiOS line). If I need a piece of code, a utility program, or even a new OS, it’s just a download away.

With hardware, I have to wait. And I absolutely STINK at waiting. :slight_smile:

Right now I’m waiting on:

PCBs (from both Dorkbot and BatchPCB)
Modules from Seeed
Tools and supplies from Digikey

How do you all stand it!?! :o

I have been told that patience is inversely proportional to intelligence. I guess software people are smarter than hardware people. :smiley:

Meditation works well for me. Also, another tactic is to try quickly forgetting what you’ve ordered, so when it does finally show up, it’s a nice surprise :wink:

In reality, UPS/FedEx sites flag a probable DOS attack when I’m checking shipping status!

On a side note

… very soon you will get to a point where you will be have a ton of components and boards with you and you wont know why you got them in the first place…you will continue to order another 20 or more of those bypass capacitors because you dont want to search for the 100 you already have some where

:slight_smile:

This Tuesday evening I was annoyed that my Mouser order had not arrived yet after almost a week. I jumped on their website and looked up my past orders and did not see the order in question. So then I pulled up my shopping cart and there it all was! Guess you so have to hit that submit button before anything will happen :slight_smile:

I clicked the submit button Tuesday evening and had it on Thursday, can’t beat that…

@ Jeff