Day 2 my thoughts on Cobra II (wifi)

Hi All, I am a complete noob to anything resembling a micro-controller. I have a very basic understanding of electronics so I bought a Cobra 2 and extender and a bunch of modules.
I can build/run code on the mainboard no problems, however after connecting the extender and plugging in a module (in this case the MotorControllerL298 and the LED7C) via the extender, the code runs but nothing happens.
I can plug the LED7C into the mainboard socket, and blink it, yet when I plug it into one of the extender sockets it doesnt even power up.
I have installed a 2032 battery into the extender (although I have no idea why it would need one?)
The extender I just connect with a 40 pin male to male pin row? I have not yet soldered the pins to the mainboard or the extender as it looks to have connectivity to all of the contacts.
The attached image shows how I have connected the extender to he mainboard.
I am at a loss as to how to do much of anything with the mainboard as there is little to no documentation targeted at the cobra 2. All of the documentation I find is targeting other mainboards. The search function on this forum is bad at best :confused:
This is the code I run:

Debug.Print("motor 1 100");
            motorControllerL298.MoveMotorRamp(MotorControllerL298.Motor.Motor1, 100, 1000);
            motorControllerL298.MoveMotorRamp(MotorControllerL298.Motor.Motor2, 100, 1000);
            motorControllerL298.MoveMotorRamp(MotorControllerL298.Motor.Motor1, -100, 1000);
            motorControllerL298.MoveMotorRamp(MotorControllerL298.Motor.Motor2, -100, 1000);
            motorControllerL298.MoveMotorRamp(MotorControllerL298.Motor.Motor1, 0, 1000);
            motorControllerL298.MoveMotorRamp(MotorControllerL298.Motor.Motor2, 0, 1000);

led7c.SetColor(LED7C.LEDColor.Blue);
            Thread.Sleep(1000);
            led7c.SetColor(LED7C.LEDColor.Cyan);
            Thread.Sleep(1000);
            led7c.SetColor(LED7C.LEDColor.Green);