Creating a Native Driver for FEZ Cerberus. Need native reference help

Hi all,

I have a FEZ Cerberus that I have been tinkering with for a while. I have a project that I wanted to implement CAN BUS communications on. My background is all C#. I have just started to dibble into c/c++. The whole reason I’ve decided to do a native driver, is because the managed CAN driver in the showcase, is way to slow for my application. I need to receive data at around 500kbs at 40% bus load.

I have written an example CAN driver using the DSP_Lib from STMicroelectronics. Deployed it to the FEZ Cerberus and it works great, but its all in native code :confused:

I have searched and searched this forum, and the internet. However I havent had much luck in examples. I do know that GHI offers premium hardware, but I really wanna stay OSHW for future changes and nerding :slight_smile:

I have successfully downloaded the 4.3 community port, and have built the FEZ Cerberus firmware and deployed back to the device. I also have wrote a small test interop that can be successfully called from Managed code.

So here is the problems i’m hitting.

1. How can I accomplish Connecting the CAN pins to AF9? For example, I would use GPIO_PinAFConfig(params here) to accomplish this using the StdPeriphDriver. I have searched around the PK to see if I could find any custom driver examples, but have not had any luck :confused: However, I thought i found a small lead I thought in the STM32F4_i2c_function, but I cant get the reference to work in my native driver :confused:
  2. How to configure the pins. Again, I cannot find any references living already in the PK for something like GPIO_InitStructure.
  3. Can I reuse existing code from the DSP library? If so, how do I reference it in the native code for the PK?

I have tried several steps to get everything working. However, every time I add a reference or try to add code referencing the Stm32 framework, It fails to compile.