Comparing ChipworkX Development System with EMX and FEZ series

Hello folks, I am totally newbie to hardware procurement. I am a C# developer and need to get a development kit for .Net MF. searching on the web for hours, read about a few brands but don’t know what product to buy.

My requirement it to have a development kit that support .NETMF (4.0+) and some basic IO, like LCD, SD card, analog signal interface (COM) and Ethernet connection (RJ-45 is fine). Most importantly, I need the MCU to be Cortex M3 or higher, because I am targeting that platform. It is even better if the system support GPRS/3G connection (SIM).

Both ChipworkX and EMX development system are ARM7, are they the same? are they M3?
what is the difference between two system?

How about FEZ? are they only board without MCU and interface?

Thank you for your time.

FEZ is just branding of development boards that are based on GHI’s NETMF module/chipset.

There are 3 main NETMF products from GHI, USBizi + EMX + ChipworkX. Where USBizi and EMX are ARM7 72Mhz but ChipworkX is ARM9 200Mhz
All FEZ boards use USBizi chipset except FEZ Cobra uses EMX.

If you are going for GPRS/3G then you need PPP stack which only GHI NETMF devices support. You will need EMX DevSys ( and FEZ Cobra) or ChipworkX DevSys

I didn’t understand why you said this:

With netmf you aren’t targetting a platform, you’re targetting the .Net micro framework. You don’t really need to care what the device is, you are abstracted from that.

I am still reading my first NETMF book, so I am not sure.
NetMF abstract the physical layer with HAL and PAL.
But if something physical which is specific to the device, One needs to implement the driver for that on the HAL.

I am concerned about M3 because my application is mainly on Analog signal. M3 support channels.
I don’t if there is a different developing application on MCU w or w/o ADC.

If that is not the case, I will just go for an ARM7/9 Development kit right the way.