Communicate from the device (behind a router at home) to a publiuc website

I am looking for an easy way to communicate (send messages and maybe attachments) from the device behind a router in my house to a public website. Trying to have a project where I can get notifications from my house when not there to a website. What is the easiest way to achieve this? (using FEZ CERBERUS)

Generally, TCP/IP over ethernet. For Cerberus, this means ENC28J60.

There are several existing websites that may or may not meet your needs. Things like Cosm, Thingspeak, etc. You might want to look into those. I believe there might be code already in Codeshare for some of them.

Thanks very much. I have the ENC28 (is J60 required or the regular ENC28 will work?), will it work over Internet? how can it go beyond my router? as for a website, I have a MSDN subscription and with it come 10 Microsoft Azure websites for free so I intend to use it for the website. Just still wondering how TCP/IP will work across my router to the internet.

The router is designed to allow TCP connections to be setup from the LAN side to the Internet side.

The ENC28 will work. The ENC28J60 is the chip used. The module, containing the chip, is called the ENC28. :slight_smile:

1 Like

The easiest way might be to send yourself an email with the information. Have the device connect to some SMTP server and send a message. If you’re good you can even send attachments.

Another option you can consider is to run a simple SCADA webserver from your own machine. (assuming it is online all the time)

One such solution is this.

http://automation.serotoninsoftware.com/

This can run without the need for any IIS or Apache etc. It has it’s own built in server. You can send data to it via HTTP protocol and can then access from external by simply setting up PORT forwarding on your router. You then have a self contained system.