Cobra 3 -> usb host serial

Hello!

This is my first project with the cobra, though I do have experience on the spider with a few projects before.
I’ve read through the …docs/36 giving info about usb serial and it seems like it should be very straightforward.

I am able to plug a usb serial mouse into the cobra usb host and can see that it is connected, so that makes me
think I have the code setup ok with the right assembly and am using GHI.Usb.Host ok.

But, I want to do usb serial using a terminal program with a usb-usb null modem cable connected to my computer (win 7) on one end and the cobra usb host on the other.
I installed the ftdi virtual com drivers and seems like it installed ok but I’m not really seeing anything when I check the devices on my computer.

I guess I’m expecting to see some com port show up when I connect the cable to my computer but not seeing it.
I’m beginning to wonder if I’m supposed to do more than just install the ftdi driver but not sure what that would be…

I have a breakpoint set in the function Controller_USBSerialConnected but never gets tripped.

My code is like the document:
using GHI.Usb.Host;
using Microsoft.SPOT;
using System.Threading;

public class Program
{
public static void Main()
{
Controller.UsbSerialConnected += Controller_UsbSerialConnected;

Controller.Start();

Thread.Sleep(-1);
}

private static void Controller_UsbSerialConnected(object sender, UsbSerial usbSerial)
{
    Debug.Print("UsbSerial connected.");

usbSerial.DataReceived += usbSerial_DataReceived;
}

etc…

Help is greatly appreciated and needed!!

ok, maybe I know what is wrong but can someone with experience confirm?

I have a usb-usb null modem cable I bought from Fry’s but now starting to think I have
to have the FTDI cable as it has a pcb inside that crosses tx/rx and maybe pulls down the line (can’t tell from website).