Cnc control

Hi,
I’m pretty new to this stuff and have been looking into the electronics for a reprap system. Traditionally this is arduino based, there is also a rc2c based system. The rc2c based system provided a far faster chip with more memory and a more effient machine in production value.
As the fez boards are a step up in these directions and I notice you can get stepper driver boards for them I wondered how viable the system is.
The first complication is the stepper boards. They are driving two motors per board. Their advantage is providing 3amps, which is better than the standard 2, but is that per motor? Do they provide separate logic for each motor to move independently or both the same. I’m presuming independent logic.

The second complication is software and hardware control. Standard Cnc using g-code. Someone did mention attempting to use it.
3d files are converted to Gcode for the arduino. So it’s all g-code.

Essentially then it’s a question of what programming language controls the stepper motors in fez and what limitations are there to the driver boards?
How many driver boards could a for example fez hydra handle?
Is this all within simple bounds of the boards or am I missing something.
Are there any good examples of stepper motor controls used in projects? Preferably with someone I can ask questions to
Regards,
James.

Hi James
Welcome to the the community.
There are lots of resources on this forum and I know there are a few people looking at CNC machines. Have a look at this thread http://www.tinyclr.com/forum/2/3196/ Kurtnelle is well on the way to making what looks like an awesome machine.
There may also be some code examples for stepper motors etc on the code site http://code.tinyclr.com

Thanks. That’s a very interesting thread. He’s also come to the same conclusion of the l298 board and the hydra.