Chosing my toys

I have been working with arduino’s for a while and have come to the conclusion I am not a programmer. I can build just about anything. I’ve been a master mechanic for over 10 years and love to help people. I have hundreds of parts in my garage and have spent countless hours on organizing my garage. So I had an idea to build shelves with bins. It worked for a while but every time I’m looking for one part I make a huge mess. This is usually trying to help someone else and then I have to go spend another day cleaning it again. So I have built a gantry arm that has an RC Car motor that moves an x axis and y axis and grab a bin and bring it back to a “home” location. Now I need to figure out a way to move it and store part locations. I know this project is going to take a long time. I have sat down and used the GLIDE to make a touchscreen interface that I think will work. All the buttons I need to move it save and search. I don’t know how to make them work yet but it looks like it will work to me if I can get the buttons to do what I think they should do.

Hardware I have so far. Brushless motor and speed controllers X 2 that require a PWM signal. One for x and one for y locations. Both have hall 3 hall effect sensors in them. I will only be using one though to count rotations. These rotation counts is what I will use track the position of my x and y axis.

What board do you think I should use to accomplish my task?

This sounds like a fun project. I guess you could use the pulse count module for counting rotations and any of the mainboards. A Cerberus might do it if it has enough pwm outputs. I haven’t checked though

I have no idea what’s wrong with putting bins back to the shelves manually, but a robot arm would certainly look frickin’ awesome!

Looks like you’ve got some serious money invested in your garage. So I think don’t go into compromises and grab the Raptor…