CDC and OSX

Does anyone knows how to make CDC class works on a OSX host ?

OSX detects the CDC buy not install any tty device…

It seems there is no one using a Mac…

I am not sure how it is done with MAC. With windows driver there is the inf file that tells the OS the required information to enumerate the device as CDC in addition to the VID and PID.

Hi Pablo, I plan on using a Mac as “controller” for a FEZ too.

I have zero experience with USB programing, but here is what I found out so far:

1. USB CDC:
    CDC seems to be a standardized protocol that enables USB to create virtual COM ports, network interfaces etc. OSX seems not to ship with a kernel extension for CDC devices. But, Apple published a set of CDC drivers (open source). See here: http://www.opensource.apple.com/source/AppleUSBCDCDriver/AppleUSBCDCDriver-4005.4.2/

I downloaded the driver but actually I didn’t even bother to try it out. CDC is not what I am looking for, I dislike the idea of creating a COM port on the users Mac to access the FEZ. Also, the CDC driver requires deployment of a kernel extension, meaning it requires admin rights. I am actually after something simpler.

1. USB HID
    I saw some awesome posts about users experimenting on how to configure the FEZ to be a HID device. Now, as far as I understand, this has some drawbacks too: HID devices/protocols are standardized (AFAIK), so the message length etc might have to follow the standard for things to work. Another drawback is it seems OS X (the kernel) will always take control of HID devices (since there are expected to be controlled by the system, eg mouse, pen etc). So that might cause problems accessing the device from an app.

2. Custom USB communication