Bluetooth - measure distance between two devices

I am new to applying Bluetooth technology. Therefore, I apologize in advance for what may be a naive question. My question, is it possible to get an approximate measure of distance between two Bluetooth enabled devices that will always be within 20 feet of each other? For instance, if a Bluetooth enabled device moves away from a master device can I measure the reception signal, or something, to get a sense of relative proximity to one another? If not, is there a module that would allow this can of measurement between two intelligent devices.

In general, no. A normal bluetooth module would not have that capability. Such a thing could be built, but you would need multiple antennas (for triangulation), or support built into the radio stack (in order to time responses to a specific signal).

Radio waves in air travel roughly 1,000 feet per microsecond, so the timing would be, to say the least, tricky. Given a 72 MHz device, accuracy would be VERY poor.

Why would you need triangulation if you’re only interested in straight-line distance. Theoretically, you could have a one-time calibration where you measured signal strength at a couple measured distances and then it would be interpolated on future readings.

Signal strength is not simply a function of distance. Distance is only one factor, and not even the biggest factor. Furthermore, class 1 devices are required to dynamically adjust transmit power based on signal strength.

@ godefroi -
Yes, I need a means to measure the point-to-point distance between two intelligent objects. If I cannot use Bluetooth, is there another device that allows one to do this e.g. motion detector?

GPS

Good to know about the dynamic transmit power. Thanks.

I don’t think this would work because it sounds like he wants them in near proximity. I think most GPSs that we can get are doing really good if they’re accurate within 10m.