Beginner Questions and recommendations

(Hope I’m posting in the right place.)

I’m a windows system admin and vb.net developer but have no experience with electronics directly, however, I have an older car that I’ve wanted to put a car computer into for a few years now.

My car is pre-ODBII so I can’t just hook into the system and get a bunch of information.

So… I have 2 questions.

1. Is there a way that I connect one of these Gadgeteer boards to my (as a for instance) speedometer circuit and read the voltage (?) change. I’m guessing that if I can do that, I can then write to code to display the proper speed based on the voltage. I’ve seen the voltage sensor, but that doesn’t seem to be made for 12v DC. I’m thinking it would be something that allows an analog dc powered connection. I just know enough about this stuff and the descriptions/documentation seems to be very spotty.

2. Is there a way to connect more than 1 T35 Display modules? I’ll explain. I would like to replace my gauge cluster’s instruments with a touch screen display, however the space available is roughly 12 inches by 5 inches and there are no monitors made in that size. When I saw the T35, I thought hey… 3 of those would work perfectly… only to be disappointed when I found out only 1 can be connected to a main board.

It is possible that I could fit a smaller 7" screen in there but I really like the idea of the 3 separate screens. Even to the point of considering purchasing three boards and then figuring out how to make then “talk” to each other.

Thanks in advance to any responses…

Welcome to the community Campbell!

Search the forum for ‘Bike computer’. The concepts for reading the sensors are the same.

I like the multi screen idea. There would be a few ways to accomplish it…

• Connect them in parallel but control which one gets the Enable signal through a logic circuit.
  • Use serial displays on a bus. Like http://www.4dsystems.com.au
  • Run 3 systems with comms between them.