Artistic project - EMX based video player

Hello,

I’m an artist working in various installations - a mixture of technology (not visibile) and art (visible).
My current project involves building a very compact device, which plays a video sequence depending
on RFID tag scanned. So basically I have some video sequences (could be just images - I don’t need
very high framrate - 10/12FPS is enough) stored on SD card, which I would like to send to 320x240
LCD TFT display.

I have limited experience working with electronics, but have solid software developing background
(C,C++, Java…). I hope to get prototype working myself using existing libraries and then use professional
help to build the actual board.

1. Am I in the right place ?

2. Should I get GHI-EMXDEV-129 (EMX Development System) kit ?

3. The supplied screen (3.5") is way too big for my project. Can I use different screen and if so,
    what are the requirements ? 8bit interface ? SPI ? Any particular Driver IC ? Any particular resoluton?

4. Ideally I also would like also to send a ZigBee message to outside PC to play corresponding soundtrack when video is played. I already have ZigBee modules (by TagSense Inc). Or is it better
    to use “XBee Adapter Module” sold here ?

Thank you in advance,

Sincerely M
Paris, France

Take a look at gadgeteer category in catalog. It had everything you need and no experience is needed.

Welcome to the community.

Well almost no experience needed, except C# :wink: which i don’t see in your post…

hello,

Yes, Gadgeteers looks perfect. Unfortunatelly even the smallest board (spider) is 7mm too large to
fit into my casing. (I have 50mm x 50mm space) But for prototype its ok.

Now what about the display ? What kind of LCD I can use with the kit ? Any ?
Please advice me on this part before I go ahead…

Thanks
M

ps: ok for C#… I remember doing some project with it - looked very similar to java :slight_smile:

The OLED display might work for you.